JD (U) to fight UP Election 2012 on all seats

JD(U) will contest all 403 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh, party chief Sharad Yadav said on Wednesday after failure of talks with NDA ally BJP for a tie-up. "We will contest on all 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh and list of more candidates will be issued in coming days,"Yadav told reporters after announcing the first list of 32 candidates. Yadav also said that all the party leaders, including Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar, would participate in campaigning in the state polls. The JD(U) has formed a three-member team of its general secretary KC Tyagi, Rajya Sabha member from Bihar RCP Singh and UP party chief Suresh Niranjan Bhaiya to supervise the campaign and elections in the state. The list includes farmers' leader from UP Manveer Singh Tevatia, ex-BSP MLA Brijesh Mishra and former DGP and ex-minister of the state Mahendra Singh Yadav.
Replying to a query whether the development indicates a rift between JD(U) and BJP, he said, "There is no such thing. We have a nation-wide coalition and we all work on the basis of a Common Minimum Program. We don't have any complain with the BJP there." He also attacked parties for inducting tainted leaders in their camp ahead of the elections.


Post a Comment