Third Phase Campaigning ends today in UP

The campaigning for the third phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh ends on Monday evening, a total of 1,021 candidates are in fray for this phase. The third phase polling will cover the naxalite-infested Mirzapur, Sonebhadra and Chandauli districts. The inter-state boarders with Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh would be sealed off from Monday evening. Over 11,500 polling stations are being set up for more than 1 crore 79 lakhs electorates.
The Central Para Military Forces will man polling stations. Choppers are also being deployed to oversee the law and order problem in the naxalite belt besides anti-mine vehicles would also be deployed. Prominent candidates whose fate would be decided in the third phase in the state include former Assembly Speaker and BJP candidate Kesri Nath Tripathi and BSP minister Nand Gopal Gupta, BSP minister Indrajeet Saroj, Congress candidate Amita Singh, former state minister and SP candidate Ujjawal Raman Singh, SP candidate and former principal secretary of state Assembly Rajendra Prasad Pandey from Majhawava seat in Mirzapur.


Post a Comment