Uttar Pradesh Election 6th Phase Notification issued

Election process for the sixth phase of polling in 68 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh started this morning with the issuance of notification by Governor B L Joshi. The polling would be held on February 28 which will cover the sensitive areas of west UP and the strong belt of Rashtriya Lok Dal(RLD) and former UP chief minister Kalyan Singh. The election would be held under the new delimitation with 19 new seats replacing the existing 18. According to Chief Electoral officer(CEO) Umesh Sinha, candidates can file their nominations in these 49 Assembly seats covering 13 districts of Saharanpur, Meerut, Aligarh and Agra divisions starting today.
More than 21.18 million voters are likely to exercise their franchise at 21,317 polling stations through 23,448 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in this phase. Candidates can file their nominations till February 9, the scrutiny of which would follow the next day. The withdrawal of nominations can be done till February 13, the CEO said.


Post a Comment