Akhilesh Yadav renames 8 UP districts

Uttar Pradesh(UP) Government on Monday changed the names of the eight districts which had been renamed by the previous Mayawati regime, official sources said. And on expected lines, the former chief minister is crying foul. The BSP chief immediately accused the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party government of changing the names "with an ill will." She claims the districts were named after saints, gurus and Dalit icons during her regime. "New districts were created during BSP regime and named after Dalit and Other Backward Classes (OBC) icons so that they always remain a source of inspiration for the society," Mayawati in a statement.
The decision in this regard was taken at a cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav. While Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar, formerly known as Amethi, will now be known as Gauriganj, Rambai Nagar will be called Kanpur dehat. The names of Bheem Nagar, Prabuddha Nagar and Pancheel Nagar have been changed to Bahjoi, Shamli and Hapur respectively, they said. Similarly names of Kanshiram Nagar, Mahamaya Nagar and JP Nagar have been changed to Kasganj, Hathras and Amroha respectively. The Cabinet also restored the name of King George's Medical University (KGMU), which was changed to Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Medical University in the BSP regime.


Post a Comment